TradingLookup

Crypto perps compared: fees, leverage and funding

Perpetual futures are crypto contracts with no expiry date, held open by a funding payment between buyers and sellers. Here is what each venue charges and allows, in its own words. Leverage multiplies losses as well as gains.

Venues read
11of 13 in the ledger measured
Median taker fee
0.05%entry tier, 8 venues judged
Lowest taker fee
0.02%MEXC measured
Highest stated leverage
500xon the venue's biggest markets measured

The median entry-tier taker fee on crypto perpetual futures was 0.05% of the trade's value across 8 venues on 16 October 2026 (judged), according to TradingLookup's Crypto Perps Ledger (Oct 2026).

Fees, leverage and access, venue by venue

Entry-tier fees for a regular account; volume tiers and token discounts lower them. Sorted by taker fee. Press a value for the venue's page; its words are in the tooltip.

Crypto perpetual futures venues: fees, leverage, funding and access, read 16 October 2026
VenueMakerTakerMax leverageFundingUSUK
MEXCExchange (CEX) 0.00% 0.02% 500x Not stated Not stated Not stated
DeribitExchange (CEX) 0.015% (1.5 bps) 0.035% (3.5 bps) Not stated Not stated no (stated: United States on restricted list) professional clients only (stated: United Kingdom, retail clients not allowed)
HyperliquidOn-chain (DEX) 0.015% 0.045% 40x (BTC); lower for other assets every hour no (stated: US persons are Restricted Persons for the interface) Not stated
BinanceExchange (CEX) 0.02% 0.05% Not stated every 8 hours by default (some symbols 1 hour) Not stated Not stated
BingXExchange (CEX) 0.02% 0.05% Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
dYdXOn-chain (DEX) 0.01% (1.0 bps) 0.05% (5.0 bps) Not stated every hour no (stated: US persons are Blocked Persons for dYdX perpetuals) no (stated: UK persons are Blocked Persons for dYdX perpetuals)
KrakenExchange (CEX) 0.02% 0.05% Not stated Not stated separate US product only (stated: US clients use Kraken Derivatives US, futures on US exchanges such as CME and Bitnomial) professional clients only (stated)
KuCoinExchange (CEX) 0.02% 0.06% Not stated Not stated no (stated: US is a Restricted Location) UK not on restricted list
BitgetExchange (CEX) Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
CoinbaseExchange (CEX) Not stated Not stated 50x Not stated no for global perps (stated: only outside the US; US has a separate experience) Not stated
OKXExchange (CEX) Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated separate US entity for approved US locations; certain US jurisdictions and all US territories restricted (stated) restricted for derivatives (stated: OKX may restrict UK derivatives-related services)

Not read: Bybit, Gate. Their pages blocked or did not answer our reader, and we never get around a block.

Every venue, in its own words

MEXCtaker 0.02% · up to 500x

Type of venue
centralised exchange On MEXC, perpetual Futures trading fees are · mexc.com, read
Maker fee
0.00% On MEXC, perpetual Futures trading fees are: 0.00% for Makers and 0.02% for Takers. · mexc.com, read
Taker fee
0.02% On MEXC, perpetual Futures trading fees are: 0.00% for Makers and 0.02% for Takers. · mexc.com, read
Maximum leverage
500x MEXC futures support leverage from 1× to 500× · mexc.com, read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
Not stated on the pages we read
UK access
Not stated on the pages we read
Restricted countries
Not stated on the pages we read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Not stated on the pages we read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

mexc.com · read 16 October 2026

Deribittaker 0.035% (3.5 bps)

Type of venue
centralised exchange Quick links to both the exchange and to our KB articles. · support.deribit.com, read
Maker fee
0.015% (1.5 bps) The table below shows perpetuals and futures fees in basis points (maker/taker). … Standard … 1.5 / 3.5 · support.deribit.com, read
Taker fee
0.035% (3.5 bps) The table below shows perpetuals and futures fees in basis points (maker/taker). … Standard … 1.5 / 3.5 · support.deribit.com, read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
no (stated: United States on restricted list) are not allowed if you are located, incorporated or otherwise established in, or a resident of, any of the jurisdictions in the overview below … Virgin Islands (U.S.) · support.deribit.com, read
UK access
professional clients only (stated: United Kingdom, retail clients not allowed) United Kingdom (Retail Clients not allowed) · support.deribit.com, read
Restricted countries
Restricted: incl. US, Canada, Japan, Russia, Belarus, Iran, North Korea, Cuba; UK retail; UAE and Panama retail spot only (full list on page) Central African Republic … Iraq Japan Democratic People's Republic of Korea … United Kingdom (Retail Clients not allowed) … United Arab Emirates (Retail Investors may only trade spot products) · support.deribit.com, read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Not stated on the pages we read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

deribit.com · read 16 October 2026

Hyperliquidtaker 0.045% · up to 40x (BTC); lower for other assets

Type of venue
decentralised exchange (on-chain) Hyperliquid, a decentralized, permissionless, and community-driven blockchain · app.hyperliquid.xyz, read
Maker fee
0.015% Perps fee tiers … Maker 0 0.045% 0.015% 0.0270% 0.0090% · hyperliquid.gitbook.io, read
Taker fee
0.045% Perps fee tiers … Maker 0 0.045% 0.015% 0.0270% 0.0090% · hyperliquid.gitbook.io, read
Maximum leverage
40x (BTC); lower for other assets BTC Notional Position Value (USDC) Max Leverage 0-150M 40 >150M 20 · hyperliquid.gitbook.io, read
Funding paid
every hour The funding rate on Hyperliquid is paid every hour. · hyperliquid.gitbook.io, read
Margin in
USDC USDC margining, USDT denominated linear contracts · hyperliquid.gitbook.io, read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
no (stated: US persons are Restricted Persons for the interface) Restricted Persons include: (a) persons or entities who reside in, are located in, are incorporated in, or have a registered office in the United States of America or Ontario, Canada · app.hyperliquid.xyz, read
UK access
Not stated on the pages we read
Restricted countries
Restricted: US, Ontario (Canada), sanctioned jurisdictions and their citizens (interface terms) the United States of America or Ontario, Canada … jurisdictions subject to applicable economic and trade sanctions or export control laws · app.hyperliquid.xyz, read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Hyperliquid Corp. (interface provider; does not operate the chain) The Interface is made available by Hyperliquid Corp. … The Company does not own, control, or operate Hyperliquid · app.hyperliquid.xyz, read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

hyperliquid.xyz · read 16 October 2026

Binancetaker 0.05%

Type of venue
centralised exchange USDS-M Perpetual Futures · binance.com, read
Maker fee
0.02% For example, a Regular User's maker fee is 0.02% and a Regular User’s taker fee is 0.05% … BTCUSDT USDS-M Perpetual Futures · binance.com, read
Taker fee
0.05% For example, a Regular User's maker fee is 0.02% and a Regular User’s taker fee is 0.05% … BTCUSDT USDS-M Perpetual Futures · binance.com, read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
every 8 hours by default (some symbols 1 hour) The default funding interval is every 8 hours at 00:00 (UTC), 08:00 (UTC), and 16:00 (UTC). · binance.com, read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
Not stated on the pages we read
UK access
Not stated on the pages we read
Restricted countries
Not stated on the pages we read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Not stated on the pages we read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

binance.com · read 16 October 2026

BingXtaker 0.05%

Type of venue
centralised exchange USDⓢ-M Perp FuturesAdvanced trading settled in USDⓢ · bingx.com, read
Maker fee
0.02% BingX Perpetual Futures Fee: 0.02% · bingx.com, read
Taker fee
0.05% BingX Perpetual Futures Fee: 0.05% · bingx.com, read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
Not stated on the pages we read
UK access
Not stated on the pages we read
Restricted countries
Not stated on the pages we read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Not stated on the pages we read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

bingx.com · read 16 October 2026

dYdXtaker 0.05% (5.0 bps)

Type of venue
decentralised exchange (on-chain) The Services use open-source software ("dYdX Software") developed by dYdX Trading Inc. · dydx.trade, read
Maker fee
0.01% (1.0 bps) Tier 30d Trailing Volume Taker (bps) Maker (bps) 1 < $1M 5.0 1.0 · docs.dydx.xyz, read
Taker fee
0.05% (5.0 bps) Tier 30d Trailing Volume Taker (bps) Maker (bps) 1 < $1M 5.0 1.0 · docs.dydx.xyz, read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
every hour funding fees, which are paid or received every hour · docs.dydx.xyz, read
Margin in
USDC incorporates the quote asset (USDC) balance of the account · docs.dydx.xyz, read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
no (stated: US persons are Blocked Persons for dYdX perpetuals) NOT AVAILABLE TO PERSONS OR ENTITIES WHO RESIDE IN, ARE CITIZENS OF, ARE LOCATED IN, ARE INCORPORATED IN, OR HAVE A REGISTERED OFFICE OR PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, THE UNITED KINGDOM OR CANADA · dydx.trade, read
UK access
no (stated: UK persons are Blocked Persons for dYdX perpetuals) IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, THE UNITED KINGDOM OR CANADA (COLLECTIVELY, "BLOCKED PERSONS") · dydx.trade, read
Restricted countries
Restricted for perps: US, UK, Canada, plus sanctioned jurisdictions (full terms on page) THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, THE UNITED KINGDOM OR CANADA (COLLECTIVELY, "BLOCKED PERSONS") · dydx.trade, read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
dYdX Operations Services Limited (front-end operator) entered into by and between you (as defined below) and dYdX Operations Services Limited · dydx.trade, read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

dydx.trade · read 16 October 2026

Krakentaker 0.05%

Type of venue
centralised exchange Kraken Derivatives (non-US) allows clients to trade perpetual futures · support.kraken.com, read
Maker fee
0.02% Futures Maker (%)Futures Taker (%) … Tier 1< $5M$0+N/A0.02%0.05% · kraken.com, read
Taker fee
0.05% Futures Maker (%)Futures Taker (%) … Tier 1< $5M$0+N/A0.02%0.05% · kraken.com, read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
separate US product only (stated: US clients use Kraken Derivatives US, futures on US exchanges such as CME and Bitnomial) Kraken Derivatives US is only available to clients in the United States. … futures and spot margin products offered on U.S. exchanges such as the CME and Bitnomial · support.kraken.com, read
UK access
professional clients only (stated) is only available to clients who meet the criteria for categorisation as a Professional Client under Chapter 3 of the Conduct of Business Sourcebook · support.kraken.com, read
Restricted countries
Restricted: incl. Australia (wholesale only), Canada, New Zealand, UK (professional only), Russia, Belarus, Iran, North Korea, Cuba (full list on page) Kraken Derivatives is not available to clients in the regions listed below: … New Zealand … United Kingdom** · support.kraken.com, read
ID check (KYC)
yes (stated: full verification required) Personal clients: Full verification of your account · support.kraken.com, read
Company
Crypto Facilities Limited arranges UK access (FRN 757895); US: NinjaTrader Clearing LLC d/b/a Kraken Derivatives US access to derivatives trading is arranged by Crypto Facilities Limited (FRN: 757895) … provided by NinjaTrader Clearing, LLC d/b/a Kraken Derivatives US · support.kraken.com, read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
US arm: CFTC-registered FCM and NFA member (NFA ID 0309379) registered with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission ("CFTC") as a futures commission merchant ("FCM") and is a National Futures Association ("NFA") Member (NFA ID: 0309379) · support.kraken.com, read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

kraken.com · read 16 October 2026

KuCointaker 0.06%

Type of venue
centralised exchange USDⓈ-Margined Futures · kucoin.com, read
Maker fee
0.02% VIP 0: The standard entry-level fee of 0.02% (Maker) – 0.06% (Taker). · kucoin.com, read
Taker fee
0.06% VIP 0: The standard entry-level fee of 0.02% (Maker) – 0.06% (Taker). · kucoin.com, read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
no (stated: US is a Restricted Location) “Restricted Locations” shall include the United States · kucoin.com, read
UK access
UK not on restricted list “Restricted Locations” shall include the United States (including its territories such as Puerto Rico, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, etc), Singapore, the mainland of China and Hong Kong, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Ontario, and British Columbia of Canada, France, Netherlands · kucoin.com, read
Restricted countries
Restricted: incl. US, Singapore, mainland China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Ontario, British Columbia, France, Netherlands, occupied Ukraine regions (full list on page) Singapore, the mainland of China and Hong Kong, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Ontario, and British Columbia of Canada, France, Netherlands · kucoin.com, read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Not stated on the pages we read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

kucoin.com · read 16 October 2026

Bitget

Type of venue
centralised exchange Futures fee rates · bitget.com, read
Maker fee
Not stated on the pages we read
Taker fee
Not stated on the pages we read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
Not stated on the pages we read
UK access
Not stated on the pages we read
Restricted countries
Not stated on the pages we read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Not stated on the pages we read
Where it is based
Not stated on the pages we read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

bitget.com · read 16 October 2026

Coinbase · up to 50x

Type of venue
centralised exchange (Coinbase global perpetuals via Coinbase Advanced, non-US; broker Coinbase Bermuda) Available via Coinbase Advanced for retail traders in eligible non-US jurisdictions. · coinbase.com, read
Maker fee
Not stated on the pages we read
Taker fee
Not stated on the pages we read
Maximum leverage
50x Trade with up to 50x leverage · coinbase.com, read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
USDC, BTC, ETH or other accepted collateral Transfer USDC, BTC, ETH, or other accepted collateral to your Global Derivatives portfolio. · help.coinbase.com, read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
no for global perps (stated: only outside the US; US has a separate experience) Global Derivatives trading is currently only available to eligible customers in select regions outside the United States. · help.coinbase.com, read
UK access
Not stated on the pages we read
Restricted countries
Not stated on the pages we read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Coinbase Bermuda Limited (CBBM); UK arranger CB Payments Ltd derivatives products and related brokerage and custody services are offered by Coinbase Bermuda Limited (CBBM) … For customers in the UK, your derivatives arranger services are provided by CB Payments Ltd (CBPL) · help.coinbase.com, read
Where it is based
Bermuda its registered office is Park Place, 55 Par La Ville Road, Hamilton HM11, Bermuda · help.coinbase.com, read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Bermuda Monetary Authority Class F digital asset business licence (CBBM) CBBM is regulated by the Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA) and holds a Class F digital asset business licence · help.coinbase.com, read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

coinbase.com · read 16 October 2026

OKX

Type of venue
centralised exchange Futures, Options, Index Tracker and Margin Lending offered by Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd., a Seychelles registered company. · okx.com, read
Maker fee
Not stated on the pages we read
Taker fee
Not stated on the pages we read
Maximum leverage
Not stated on the pages we read
Funding paid
Not stated on the pages we read
Margin in
Not stated on the pages we read
Perpetual markets
Not stated on the pages we read
US access
separate US entity for approved US locations; certain US jurisdictions and all US territories restricted (stated) certain jurisdictions within the United States of America including all U.S. territories · okx.com, read
UK access
restricted for derivatives (stated: OKX may restrict UK derivatives-related services) the United Kingdom (specifically regarding our derivatives-related, cefi-related, and P2P services) · okx.com, read
Restricted countries
Restricted: incl. Afghanistan, Canada, Cuba, Hong Kong, Iran, India, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, North Korea, Syria, Uzbekistan, certain US jurisdictions; derivatives limited in Australia, Brazil, South Korea, UK (full list on page) Restricted Locations, which at this time include Afghanistan, Canada, Cuba, Hong Kong, Iran, India, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, North Korea, Syria · okx.com, read
ID check (KYC)
Not stated on the pages we read
Company
Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd. (futures); OKX Inc. for approved US locations Futures, Options, Index Tracker and Margin Lending offered by Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd., a Seychelles registered company. … OKX INC., a Delaware corporation (“OKX US”) · okx.com, read
Where it is based
Seychelles (futures entity) Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd., a Seychelles registered company · okx.com, read
Regulatory status, as the firm states it
Not stated on the pages we read
Proof of reserves
Not stated on the pages we read
Insurance fund
Not stated on the pages we read

okx.com · read 16 October 2026

How we read them

Our script saved each venue's own fee schedule, contract, funding and terms pages on 16 October 2026 and kept a fingerprint of each. A value is shown only if the venue's exact words are in the page we saved; anything else says "not stated". Where a venue blocks our reader we record it and move on. Whether you may use a venue depends on the law where you live: check it before you use one. 64 of 64 quoted facts checked out word for word.

Download: crypto-perps.csv · summary (CC BY 4.0).

Elsewhere on the site

Get UK crypto licence changes by email

Firms added to or removed from the FCA register, and new FCA notices. Free.

Email alerts: what each list sends